gnat on the windshield

splat, splat, splat

owl? another one? August 22, 2007

Filed under: amigurumi,crochet,free patterns — gnathalie2 @ 11:36 pm

yup.  another owl for my growing owl collection.  he/she doesn’t have a name yet, but here he/she is!!

1207324270_2a28878a8e_m.jpg

it’s standing in front of a super cool folder from either wal mart or target, i don’t remember which! 

1207324270_2a28878a8e_m1.jpg

I took two pictures and they both look the same to me, but at any rate here is the pattern:

(pdf version: owl)

Materials:

g hook

ww yarn ( i used simply soft in plum for the body, and black, pink and beige for the eyes)

felt

glue

Body/Head:

6 sc in ring

rd1: 2 sc in each sc around (12 sc)

rd2: 2 sc in first sc, sc in next sc around (18 sc)

rd3: 2 sc in first sc, sc in next 2 sc around (24 sc)

rd4: sc in each sc around (24 sc)

rd5: 2 sc in first sc, sc in next 3 sc around (30 sc)

rd6: 2 sc in first sc, sc in next 4 sc around (36 sc)

rd7-11: sc in each sc around (36 sc)

rd12: dec1sc over first 2 sc, sc in next 4 sc around (30 sc)

rd13: dec1sc over first 2 sc, sc in next 3 sc around (24 sc)

rd14-18: sc in each sc around (24 sc)

rd19: 2sc in first sc, sc in next 3 sc around (30 sc)

rd20-23: sc in each sc around (30 sc)

rd24: dec1sc over first 2 sc, sc in next 3 sc aeound (24 sc)

rd25: dec1sc over first 2 sc, sc in next 2 sc around (18 sc)

Stuff owl here

rd26: sc in each sc around (18 sc)

rd27: dec1sc over first 2 sc, sc in next sc around (12 sc)

rd28: dec1sc over first 2 sc around (6 sc)

fasten off

Eyes (make 2)

4 sc in ring (with black)

rd1: 2 sc in each sc around (8 sc)

rd2:(switch to pink) 2 sc in first sc, sc in next sc around (12 sc)

rd3: (switch to beige/white) 2 sc in first sc, sc in next 2 sc around (16 sc)

rd4: 2 sc in first sc, sc in next 3 sc around (20 sc)

fasten off.

Finishing:

sew or glue eyes to the head, cut out a small triangle for the beak and glue in between eyes, also cut out ’rounded’ triangles for the feet, and sort of a heart shape for the wings.

I used orange felt for the feet and beak, and black for the wings.

Enjoy!!

Nathalie

 

14 Responses to “owl? another one?”

  1. Tina Says:

    That is so cute! Thank you for sharing it with us. I’ll have to add this to my one hundred item long list of things to crochet… :p

  2. gnathalie2 Says:

    sounds like we both have the same size list!!
    Nathalie

  3. She looks like her name should be ‘LaHootie’ and she is now wondering where her boyfriend, ‘Hootie’, is hiding! He’s probably hiding in your yarn stash somewhere around near where the blue yarn is! lol Cause he looks just like her except he’s dressed in blue.

  4. gnathalie2 Says:

    with the insane heat here, i’ll bet he’s in the freezer!!!

  5. superjen Says:

    If you make a Hootie you have to make a Blowfish next.

  6. gnathalie2 Says:

    haahaahaahaahaha!!! great minds think alike!!

  7. Tomi Says:

    Ok, I’m officially in love! Your owl is FANTABULOUS Nathalie! The eyes. It’s all in the eyes. I dare not let my Alex see this, that boy has too many ‘babies’ as it is.

  8. stephanie75 Says:

    Nat, this one is adorable! I have an owner in mind for you. She’s in love with it!! Her name is Angela and she loves it. You willing to part with him/her?!? And if you make one called “blowfish”, I’ll have to do something drastic. I can’t stand that band.

  9. gnathalie2 Says:

    no problem. i’ll give the owl to you!!

  10. superjen Says:

    Hootie sings to steph “there’s nothing I can do – I only wanna be with yoooooooooouuuuuu…”

    Yeah I don’t like that band much either.

  11. Marla Says:

    I have a question. I was in the middle of the pattern and the shaping did not seem to match the picture. So I counted the visible rows in the photo and there are a lot more than the 21 rows in your pattern. If I allow for two unseen rows under the feet and one on the head there have to be more than 30 rows. Row 21 hits somewhere behind the beak. My mother LOVES owls and I really liked this one. I altered the pattern to work for me but I would love to have the proper pattern because I love the shaping you achieved. Thanks
    marla_davis@yahoo.com

  12. wg Says:

    Would you please look over the pattern for us? I’m new to crocheting and amigurumi and I have tried making some of the shared patterns but some are not working out properly and it becomes frustrating to work a pattern that does not turn out like the photo posted. It makes me want to give up on amigurumi.
    This owl is so cute. Would love to make it.

  13. […] who is doing all the name takin?  Wende!!!  She made an absolutly FABULOUS owl using my pattern (https://gnathalie2.wordpress.com/2007/08/22/owl-another-one/)  !!  Yeah […]

  14. […] I love the colors of the Bernat yarn i bought at Micheals the other day, so while i was watching Monk reruns i crocheted an owl using my owl pattern (https://gnathalie2.wordpress.com/2007/08/22/owl-another-one/) […]


Leave a Reply

