gnat on the windshield

splat, splat, splat

afternoon delight September 1, 2007

Filed under: amigurumi,crochet,free patterns,turtles — gnathalie2 @ 9:00 pm

One of the first amigurumi i ever made was a tiny turtle. Actually, the pattern i used was called ‘tiny turtle’, the link to that is here:   http://kristieskids.weebly.com/ (It’s listed under ‘patterns 1’) I really liked the darn thing, so i decided to create my very own!  While i was making her i watched season 3 of Arrested Development aka THE BEST SHOW EVER! I finally found it at Target for $20, i’ve had seasons 1 & 2 for months so of course i have to watch it over and over again.  Inspired by the episode where Buster gets a turtle to spite his mom and names it Mother, i named this one ‘afternoon delight’ after the weed that the turtle ate when Buster left it in the box. The box with the turtle on it. watch the episode. (it’s somewhere in season 2):

click here for pdf: afternoon delight

Here she is!!

lturtle7.jpg

What a little cutie pie!  I put a little orange flower on her cause her shell was a little plain.

lturtle1.jpg

I am entering her in the crochet challenge here: http://cdchallenge.eamped.com/

lturtle4.jpg

Yeah!!!  Free pattern!!!  As Always!!!!!

Materials:

g hook

ww yarn (i used caron simply soft in plum and beige color)

yarn needle

eyes, embroidery floss for mouth

Body (with plum):

6 sc in ring

rd1: 2 sc in each sc around (12 sc)

rd2: 2 sc in first sc, sc in next sc around (18 sc)

rd3: 2 sc in first sc, sc in next 2 sc around (24 sc)

rd4: 2 sc in first sc, sc in next 3 sc around (30 sc)

rd5: sc in each sc around (30 sc)

rd6: 2 sc in first sc, sc in next 4 sc around (36 sc)

rd7-9: sc in each sc around (36 sc)

rd10: In Back Loops Only, dec1sc, sc in next 4 sc around (30 sc)

rd11: dec1sc, sc in next 3 sc around (24 sc)

rd12: dec1sc, sc in next 2 sc around (18 sc)

rd13: dec1sc, sc in next sc around (12 sc)

rd14: dec1sc around (6 sc)

fasten off.

Head (with beige):

6 sc in ring

rd1: 2 sc in each sc around (12 sc)

rd2: 2 sc in first sc, sc in next sc around (18 sc)

rd3: 2 sc in first sc, sc in next 2 sc around (24 sc)

rd4-7: sc in each sc around (24 sc)

rd8: dec1sc, sc in next 2 sc around (18 sc)

rd9: sc in each sc around (18 sc)

rd10: dec1sc, sc in next sc around (12 sc)

rd11: sc in each sc around (12 sc)

Fasten off.

Feet ( make 4, with beige):

5 sc in ring

rd1: 2 sc in each sc around (10 sc)

rd2: sc in each sc around (10 sc)

rd3: In Back Loops Only, sc in each sc around (10 sc)

rd4 & 5: sc in each sc around (10 sc)

Fasten off.

 Tail:

Ch 5, sc in 2nd chain from hook, sc in next ch, sl st in last 2 chains, fasten off.

Flower:

5 sc in ring, sl st in first sc, chain 7, sl st in next sc, do this all the way around, sl st and fasten off.

Finishing:

Stuff head, body, and feet.  I sewed on the head right after the BLO decrease round, same with the tail. Sew on feet, glue on eyes, embroider mouth, enjoy turtle.

 

45 Responses to “afternoon delight”

  1. stephanie75 Says:

    OMG the name is PERFECT!! What a cutie turtle:)

    Call me! (call me?!?)

    ::tries not to sound pathetic::

  2. superjen Says:

    Awwwwwww! I love it! Go Gnat!

  3. Patches61 Says:

    She is so sweet. Makes you just want to sqeeze her tight.
    Patti

  4. TONI IN NY Says:

    aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah! this is sooooooooo darling! thank you for sharing!! i love items like this…probably cause i love collecting small things

    toni in ny

  5. Heidi Says:

    Why did you change the name? I liked the plum name better. But it is adorable and my 5 year old wants one
    Heidi in NV

  6. Maria Says:

    I’m going to make a little turtle as yours for my child. We loved it!

  7. komirra Says:

    wow!!! turtle is such a cutie! loving the name also. i’m in the process of making him right now:) this is the first toy i ever made and the pattern is totally easy to follow:p (tounge sticking out)

  8. Angie Says:

    SO CUTE! I’m starting to get into amigurumi and this little guy is just too cute not to make. I love the flower on his bum.

  9. Amira Says:

    Hi, it’s soooooooooooooo cute i love it!!

  10. Kristi Says:

    I love it!! I making it for my daughter(6)for christmas!

  11. Aleanna Says:

    oh my gosh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i love it!!!!!!!!!!!! thanx for sharing the pattern!!!!!!!!!

  12. Simone Says:

    Hi! I has crocheted this small turtle already 3 times! Its simply as sweet as sugar! Sooooo cute!

  13. gnathalie2 Says:

    To Simone: That’s so cool!! Thank you!!

  14. melissa Says:

    that’s is so cute!! i just taught myself to crochet…and, i googled crochet stuffed animals…and, here i am!!! so…hi!
    i’ll be back to get the pattern, it’s adorable!
    thanks for sharing…even though i know this is in your archives, already!!

  15. gnathalie2 Says:

    Hello! thank you for your super nice comment!!! can’t wait to see it when you make it!!!
    Nathalie

  16. Lilybet Says:

    how many do you chain to start the ring? I was just wondering, because you just say 6 sc in ring. I’m not sure what that means.

  17. Brit and Kenzie VH Says:

    THEY ARE SO CUTE!WE HAVE TONS OF THEM ALL OVER OUR ROOM. ME AND MY SISTER BRIT MAKE THEM EVERY DAY WITH MY MOM CARI!

    OH YEAH BABY!

    FROM: KENZIE AND BRIT VANOSDOL

  18. Rachel Says:

    This pattern is so cute, I made one for my friend Natalie (ironic name…)! http://www.ravelry.com/projects/rncrowthers/afternoon-delight

  19. Sebastian Says:

    I made a tiny turtle using your pattern as inspiration! I hope you like it. http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v464/Zev_rose/turtle-finger.jpg

  20. […] This is what I’m working on and you can find the artist and pattern here. […]

  21. Bethany. Says:

    I’m attempting my first amigurumi project with this pattern!! I’ve finished the shell, head and one of the feet. I hope I’m doing it right.

    This turtle is so adorable!

  22. Isabell Says:

    wow, lovely little turtle!

  23. gabie Says:

    how many chains do i have to chain to make circle please answer oh please i realy want to know how to make that cute little turtle

  24. gabie Says:

    sorry if Im bothering you are anything but does it matter how big your yarn is or not because im making this turtle and it always ends up bigger than my finger please or is it because I didnt make it right and please reply

  25. Jolene Says:

    Gabie … the way I read this and I may be wrong but you just make a loop in the yarn and make 6 sc in that loop. And yes by the pattern it should come out bigger than a finger. This turtle is very cute as well as the pic of mini turtle on finger by Sabastion. I cant wait to try to make this.

  26. Julie Says:

    Hello. 🙂 I just wanted to post and say thank you for such a darling design. A gal on my cross-stitch message board answered my ‘plea for help’ in finding cute little stuffed animal patterns for my nieces…and yours popped up.

    Thank you very much!

    ~Julie~

  27. […] Sardines Siamese Cat (Felted) T Turkey Turtle Turtle 2 Two peas in a pod […]

  28. Adorable! My wife is learning to crochet. We have a 3-month old daughter. This would be PERFECT. Thank you so much for the post.

  29. elw511 Says:

    This is my first amigurumi I made. One of my friends baby theme was turtles & sheeps. I had a hard time finding a stuffed turtle. I decided to look for a crochet pattern for making a turtle and ran across your pattern. It took me a while to get it done (I’m still learning…). I made the shell pink for the baby and used black embroidery thread to make the eyes and the smile. It was so cute when I was done. Thanks for sharing your pattern!!

  30. Mika Says:

    Ahhh! Thank you so much for posting this. This is definitely an afternoon delight. This is my first amigurumi creation and I hope it turns out as good as yours!

    -Mika in OH.

  31. Amy Says:

    Hahaha poor Buster 😛 That show is awesome. I need to find a “Lucille/Loose Seal” to complement the turtle 😉

    Thanks for the cute pattern!

    • Dottie Says:

      So sweet. Can’t wait to try one. I belong to a turtle organization and if it comes out good, I will be making lots! Thanks for sharing! Dot in MA

  32. LORRAINE Says:

    Thank you so much for your free pattern you are a gem,
    all I have to do now is work out how to make the magic circle lol
    sincerely Lorraine

  33. Jacob Brett Says:

    Oh dear it’s too freakin cute!! : ) I made one for a co worker cause I’m crippled and can’t work so I’m making amigurumis for all my c

  34. Jacob Brett Says:

    Oh my it’s too cute!! : ) I made one for one of my coworkers cause I broke a bone a few weeks ago and can’t work until I’m all better so I’m making amigurumis for all my female coworkers. Amanda will love this!! I wonder if you have a penguin pattern cause Amanda has a twin that’s also my coworker and I think Amber (twin) would love a penguin! 😀 awesome pattern and good luck in the contest!! 😀

  35. […] never taught anyone to crochet before….I maybe jumped ahead of myself thinking an Amigurumi Turtle would be possible for a first […]

  36. amanda Says:

    Wish directions (these directions and a few other sites) were more consistent through ALL sites. Cute pattern so I think I will make the actual pattern consistent and make these turtles amis :-).

    • amanda Says:

      Oh duh. Now that I wrote that I realized it was the font! Oh geez, I’m sorry. I’ll be fourty someday but my eyes seem to be there already. And I am wearing glasses ;’\ I have to re-paste in a larger font, d’oh!

  37. Lauren Says:

    On the body, at row 10, your pattern says to use the back loop around. Do you use the back loops from rows 11-14,or do you use both loops for loops 11-14?


Leave a Reply

