gnat on the windshield

splat, splat, splat

Pretty Pretty Flower Scarf November 12, 2007

Filed under: crochet,free patterns — gnathalie2 @ 4:12 pm

Here is my super pretty flower scarf:

1984526655_c7195bf684_m.jpg  click here for pdf: pretty pretty flower scarf

It’s about 60 inches long.  I have tons of stitch dictionary books, and for the life of me i could not get a couple of them right!!!  I have been wanting to make a flower scarf that is all one piece, not a bunch of flowers sewn together.  So after a few failed attempts, i ended up just winging it, so here is how i made it:

Materials:

Size G hook

ww yarn ( i used Caron Simply Soft in pink)

Pattern:

This scarf is made like a two way street.  First go up one end, turn around, and go back down.

Chain 6, join with a sl st

1.  (first 2 petals): chain 3, 2 dc in next ch, chain 3, sl st in same space, chain 3, 2 dc in next ch, chain 3, sl st in same space.

2.  Chain 17.  Sl st into 6th ch from hook.  repeat #1.

Repeat # 1 & 2 until the scarf is as long as you want it to be.  End with # 1.

Now for the way back down:

3. Repeat #1 (now you have all four petals on the flower)

4. chain 5. Sl st into 5th ch of ch-17.  Chain 6.  Sl st into next flower.  Repeat #1.

Now repeat 3 and 4 until you’re back at the beginning!!  End with #1.

Enjoy!!

Nathalie

So, pretty much the pattern is half a flower up one way, then the other half going back down.  The sl st that you do into the ch-17 is just so that you have a more put together looking scarf!!

 

19 Responses to “Pretty Pretty Flower Scarf”

  1. Michelle Says:

    I love this scarf! I think I have two little girls here who NEED one for Christmas!

  2. Eliea Says:

    I love this scarf. I am making it for someone for Christmas for sure. I think I’ll just make it and give it to someone! Lovely pattern!

  3. Melissa Says:

    I LOVE your blog! I have added you to my blog roll too. Have a great day!

    Melissa
    http://www.pugnotes.com
    Uncommon Pug and Dog Art

  4. Hannah Says:

    Hey, thanks for the comment and for adding me to your blogroll. I’l have to try some of your patterns!
    And SNAP! Matching profiles, lol.

    Hannah

  5. Jess Says:

    Beautiful scarf! I’m going to have to make one!

  6. PAULETTE Says:

    MY FRIEND HAS A FIFTEEN AND A SEVEN YEAR OLD AND I LOVE KNITTING AND CROCHETING “FASHION ACCESSORIES” FOR THEM AND THEY WILL BOTH LOVE THE FLOWERY SCARF. CAN’T WAIT TO GET STARTED…EVEN IF IT IS 3:30 IN THE MORNING. THANKS. PEK

  7. Lisa Says:

    Thank you for sharing your pattern with the public! I am looking for the perfect embellishment on a little baby girl’s crochet( thread) dress. I think this will be just the thing in a thin thread.

  8. Sheila Says:

    Very pretty and I’ve been experimenting with something similar. Thanks so much for sharing, I can’t wait to try it in different colors.

  9. Amy Says:

    I only learned how to crochet about a week ago, but I got tired of back and forth rows and rows of scarves pretty quickly… this was certainly a challenge, and I had to learn some new stitches and tear out a lot of work! But in the end it was worth it… this scarf came out so cute (not anywhere as nice as yours looks in the picture, but I’m satisfied with my first try), and it didn’t take long at all :3 Thanks so much for the pattern and the opportunity to expand my crochet knowledge! Your site is so much fun, and I think I will be trying out more patterns in the future.
    Keep up the good work! ❤

  10. Th Says:

    Thanks so much for sharing your pattern with us. I have a similar pattern for a triangle shawl, but your pattern is a COOL and fast gift idea.

  11. […] my flower scarf rocks… June 8, 2009 Filed under: crochet, free patterns — gnathalie2 @ 6:01 pm …..and so do the people that made it!!    (link to the pattern: https://gnathalie2.wordpress.com/2007/11/12/pretty-pretty-flower-scarf/) […]

  12. […] my flower scarf rocks… June 8, 2009 Filed under: crochet, free patterns — gnathalie2 @ 6:01 pm …..and so do the people that made it!!    (link to the pattern: https://gnathalie2.wordpress.com/2007/11/12/pretty-pretty-flower-scarf/) […]

  13. rineke Says:

    Yeah! I made one too… (see on Ravelry, I’m Tingletangle)

  14. […] thing I finished was a flower necklace crocheted with thread instead of yarn. I used the pattern Pretty Pretty Flower Scarf designed by gnathalie2 and posted on her blog Gnat on the Windshield It is a lovely design. I […]

  15. I’ve been looking the web for my research on this topic. I’m so grateful what you shared brings a new attribute to the data I’m compiling. I truly appreciate the way which you look at this topic, it provide me a another way of looking at it now. Thanks for the share.

  16. Natty Says:

    Thanks SO MUCH for this pattern, fellow Nathalie/Natalee!!! I found it on Ravelry and it’s *just* the thing for gift-giving. It’s coming together so quickly, I bet I’ll be able to churn out several in the next month or so!

    ~also a Natalee, though spelled differently from almost all the others! ;o)


Leave a comment