gnat on the windshield

splat, splat, splat

Silly blue whale July 2, 2008

Filed under: amigurumi,crochet,free patterns — gnathalie2 @ 5:53 pm

Awesome!  Free pattern time!!!  Yea, me!!

click here for pdf: Silly Blue Whale

 

 

Materials:

size F hook

ww yarn in blue, black and white (i used Caron Simply Soft)

yarn needle

fiberfill

 

 

Body:

rd1: 4 sc in a ring

rd2:  2sc in each sc around (8sc)

rd3:  2sc in each sc around (16 sc)

rd4:  2sc in first sc, sc in next sc around (24 sc)

rd5:  2sc in first sc, sc in next 2 sc around (32 sc)

rd6-19: sc in each sc around (32 sc)

rd20:  (2sc in first sc, sc in next 15 sc) 2 times (34 sc)

rd21-23: sc in each sc around (34 sc)

rd24: (sc2tog, sc in next 2 sc) 3 times, sc in next 8 sc, (sc2tog, sc in next 2 sc) 3 times, sc in last 2 sc (28)

rd25: sc in each sc around (28 sc)

rd26:  (sc2tog, sc in next sc) 3 times, sc in next 8 sc, (sc2tog, sc in next sc) 3 times, sc in last 2 sc (22 sc)

rd27:  sc in each sc around (22 sc)

rd28:  (sc2tog) 2 times, sc in next 14 sc, (sc2tog) 2 times (18 sc)

rd29: (sc2tog) 2 times, sc in next 10 sc, (sc2tog) 2 times (14 sc)

rd30: (sc2tog) 2 times, sc in next 6 sc, (sc2tog) 2 times (10 sc)

rd31-36: sc in each sc around (10 sc)

rd37:  sc in next 4 sc, dc in next 4 sc, sl st in next 2 sc (10 sc)

rd38: sc in each sc around (10 sc)

rd39: sc2tog, sc in next 6 sc, sc2tog (8 sc)

r40:  fold rd together and sc across both thicknesses (4 sc), do not fasten off!

 

Fin:

chain 4

r41: *2sc in 2nd chain from hook, 2sc in next ch, 3sc in last ch*, sc in next 2 sc, sl st in last sc.

r42:  chain 4, repeat from * to *, sl st in next 2 sc, **sc in 1st sc, hdc in next sc, 2dc in next 2 sc, hdc in next sc, sc in next sc**, fasten off.

r43: reattach yarn at base of next fin, repeat from ** to **, fasten off, weave in ends.

 

 

Side fins (make 2)

Chain 4

r1: sc in 2nd chain from hook and in next 2 chains, ch 1, turn (3 sc)

r2 & 3: sc in each sc across, ch 1, turn (3 sc)

r4:  2sc in first sc, sc in next sc, 2sc in last sc, ch 1, turn (5 sc)

r5 & 6: sc in each sc across, ch 1, turn (5 sc)

r7: hdc in first sc, dc in next 3 sc, hdc in last sc, sl st and fasten off.

 

 

Eyes (make 2 of each)

With white, 4 sc in a ring

rd1: 2sc in each sc around (8 sc)

rd2:  (2sc in first 2 sc, sc in next 2 sc) 2 times (12 sc)

rd3:  sc in first 2 sc, 2sc in next 2 sc, sc in next 4 sc, 2sc in next 2 sc, sc in last 2 sc (16 sc)

rd4:  sc in first 4 sc, 2sc in next 2 sc, sc in next 4 sc, 2sc in next 2 sc, sc in last 4 sc (20 sc)

fasten off

With black, 6 sc in a ring

rd1: 2sc in each sc around (12 sc)

fasten off

 

 

Finishing:

1.  Sew on side fins to the sides of the whale.

2. Sew the pupils (black) onto the eyes (white), then sew the eyes on the sides of the head.

3.  Using yarn needle and whatever mouth color you like, embroider the mouth onto the whale.

4.  I also used a tiny amount of black yarn and embroidered a small ‘x’ on the top.

 

 

Enjoy!!

Nathalie

 

17 Responses to “Silly blue whale”

  1. Allena Says:

    love your whale! super cute as always!

  2. Nathalie Says:

    Thank you so much, Allena!!!

  3. Melissa Says:

    Happy 4th Nathalie! Love the whale!
    🙂 Melissa and Emmitt

  4. titus2woman Says:

    I came by ‘cuz you were on my mind! LOVE your whale~but then again, I love all of your creations! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  5. Caroline Says:

    AWESOME!!! CUTE!!!!!! Great job!! Love your creations!!!

  6. bennance Says:

    What a fun pattern! I love your blog, Nathalie. It’s a great resource — I love how you post pics of cool crochet items from all over the web. And thanks for the great free patterns. Great job!

  7. Ruhammie Says:

    I recently learned to crochet and also started searching for fun patterns to crochet. Your’s are SO MUCH FUN!! I can’t wait to make them all!! I haven’t found John the Womack though and I think he’s adorable! I’d love to be able to make him too. I’ll be following your blog more from now on! Thank you!

  8. gnathalie2 Says:

    I’m glad you like my patterns, Ruhammie!! I accidently deleted the ‘john the womack’ pattern~ i’m hoping someone out there in computer land has it!!! Can’t wait to see what you make!!
    Nathalie

  9. Bethany Says:

    So adorable! Thanks for the pattern.

  10. Sasha Says:

    This is really cute but what does hdc mean? I’m a beginner when it comes to making animals.

  11. Hi, Just found your pattern. I am a slipper crafter. Was asked to do up some whale ones.
    Usually I do fish. Thank you for the info for the fins.

  12. 10bubamara Says:

    Oh, it is so cute! I started crocheting about an year ago and till now I have been experimenting only with flowers patterns, but I thing a new passion was just born! love your fantastic toys! Can’t wait till tomorrow to try this one! Thank you for sharing with us!

  13. Kaylee Pope Says:

    Hi Natalie. I am an editor over at AllFreeCrochet.com and I just love this project. I know my readers would love it, too. I would love to post it on my site with full credit to you. If you are interested, please send me an email at kpope@primecp.com. Thanks so much!

  14. MollyM Says:

    I LOVE your whale

  15. Patricia Says:

    Hello, i have a question.
    May i translate your free patterns, for my own website for (free) dutch patterns.
    Ofcourse i link to your originel patterns.
    Greetings Patricia


Leave a comment